Home2020-11-19T13:35:08+01:00

Research to help the most vulnerable

The RESIST speaker team: Prof. Dr. Thomas Schulz (in the middle) and the two co-speakers Prof. Dr. Gesine Hansen and Prof. Dr. Reinhold Förster

Some people become only mildly ill when they ’catch’ viral or bacterial infections, whereas others are affected much more severely. But what are the reasons for these differences? And how can the course of a disease be predicted and personalized treatments developed?

These questions are being addressed by the RESIST Cluster of Excellence team. This will enable them to help people with a weakened immune system, including newborn babies, the elderly, people with congenital immunodeficiency, those whose immune system is suppressed for therapeutic reasons, and implant users.

Our research programme is for the weakest. The current threat of the corona pandemic clearly shows how important the goals of our Cluster of Excellence RESIST are. We want to better understand the variable susceptibility of individuals to infections in order to protect vulnerable people as well as possible. In view of the dramatic situation, we in RESIST have started our research on SARS-CoV-2 for several month now.

More info about RESIST

RESIST – News

More news
More news
More news

Upcoming seminars

Every Thursday (except during school holidays) two RESIST scientists or top-class researchers from external institutions present their work at the RESIST seminar series. The dates and titles of the presentations are published on this homepage as soon as they are known. The seminars are taking place [...]

Upcoming seminars

All Seminars

Event Recommendation

“30th Annual Meeting of the Society for Virology”, March 24-26, 2021
Learn more…

Film Portrait of the Cluster of Excellence RESIST

Jobs

RESIST is not only a vibrant research network, but also an employer and career supporter for young investigators. Find out more about current vacancies on our job platform.

ZIB

The virtual Centre for Infection Biology (ZIB) offers the following programmes for doctoral students: “Infection Biology” and “Dynamics of Host Pathogen Interactions – DEWIN”. More information can be found here.

RESIST Cohort

Why are elderly people often more vulnerable to viral infections than younger people? In order to answer these questions the RESIST team has been establishing a clinical cohort since the end of 2019.

Go to Top

Startseite2023-04-18T13:42:55+02:00

Exzellente Wissenschaft fĂŒr Menschen, die besonders anfĂ€llig sind fĂŒr Infektionen

Laden Sie sich unseren aktuellen Newsletter „FrĂŒhjahr 2023“ herunter!

Manche Menschen erkranken nur leicht, wenn sie sich Viren oder Bakterien „einfangen“, andere jedoch sehr schwer. Doch warum verlaufen Infektionen so unterschiedlich? Und wie kann der Krankheitsverlauf vorhergesagt, können individuelle Therapien entwickelt werden?

Diesen Fragen widmet sich das Team des Exzellenzclusters RESIST. So wird es Menschen mit einem geschwĂ€chten Immunsystem helfen. Dies sind beispielsweise Neugeborene, Seniorinnen und Senioren, Menschen mit einer angeborenen ImmunschwĂ€che und Personen, deren Immunsystem aus therapeutischen Gründen gedĂ€mpft wird oder die ein Implantat tragen.

Wir forschen fĂŒr die SchwĂ€chsten. Die aktuelle Bedrohung durch die Corona-Pandemie zeigt deutlich, wie wichtig das Ziel unseres Exzellenzclusters RESIST ist, die unterschiedliche EmpfĂ€nglichkeit von Individuen fĂŒr Infektionen besser zu verstehen, um den Einzelnen so gut wie möglich zu schĂŒtzen. Angesichts der dramatischen Situation forschen wir auch rund um SARS-CoV-2.

Exzellenzcluster RESIST – Aktuell

Besuch aus Glasgow

26. Mai 2023|

Im Rahmen des deutsch-schottischen Projekts "Hannover-Glasgow Infection Strategy" (HAGIS) erhielt das RESIST-Team am 24. und 25. Mai Besuch von fĂŒnf GĂ€sten des Glasgow Centre for Virus Research (CVR). Bei ihrem Treffen am Institut fĂŒr Virologie der [...]

Besuch aus Glasgow

26. Mai 2023|

Im Rahmen des deutsch-schottischen Projekts "Hannover-Glasgow Infection Strategy" (HAGIS) erhielt das RESIST-Team am 24. und 25. Mai Besuch von fĂŒnf GĂ€sten des Glasgow Centre for Virus Research (CVR). Bei ihrem Treffen am Institut fĂŒr Virologie der [...]

Unsere nÀchsten Seminare

Spannende Themen, interessant prĂ€sentiert: Jeden ersten und dritten Donnerstag (außer wĂ€hrend der Schulferien) stellen RESIST-Wissenschaftlerinnen oder -Wissenschaftler oder hochkarĂ€tige Forscherinnen und Forscher aus externen Institutionen bei der RESIST-Seminarreihe vor. Dieses Seminar findet von [...]

FilmportrÀt des Exzellenzclusters RESIST

Promotions­programme

PhD-Studierende der Programme "Infection biology" und DEWIN des Jahrgangs 2022

RESIST unterstĂŒtzt Studierende der Naturwissenschaften oder der Medizin gern bei ihrer Promotion – sowohl in Bezug auf die Forschung als auch bei weiteren Herausforderungen. FĂŒr mehr Informationen klicken Sie hier.

RESIST-Kohorte

Warum sind Ă€ltere Menschen oft anfĂ€lliger fĂŒr virale Infekte als jĂŒngere? Um diese Frage beantworten zu können etabliert das RESIST-Team seit Ende 2019 eine klinische Kohorte mit BĂŒrgerinnen und BĂŒrgern aus Hannover.

Nach oben